The search for my talents and making money with them

I’ve been trying to figure out how to make money, and the only way to be really succesful is by doing what you are good at and what other people want. Problem is, I’m not good at anything! I’ve been struggling with this for a while now, I have no idea what my talents are. I used to draw a lot, but I sort of forgot how to. I’m not amazing at photography either, I like cooking but it doesn’t sell, I cannot write, I won’t be a good thief. Then what AM I good at?

Back in 2006, I could not draw. Not even a tiny bit, but still I wanted to. Everybody in my family is good at it, as if it’s something you can get from your parents. This made me believe I could be as good as they are, and I just started trying. I looked up pictures and drawings on deviantart and redrew them. I saw how they drew shadows and how certain textures are drawn, and after a while I made my own drawings, which I was (and still am) proud of. It took me five years to get to the point I still am now, to the point that people actually ask me to make drawings for them and they want to pay for it. But I no longer like drawing. I lack the motivation to finish it, not to mention it’s a very expensive hobby, and so my search goes on for something I AM good at.

Two years ago I was looking around at a website to sell secondhand stuff. I came across a very cheap camera, it looked fancy and why not try it? Everything was good with the camera, but it was old. When I say old I mean 12 years old. There were sort of “worms” shown on the pictures I took. Later I learned that that was because the camera has been overheated. You get these weird things on your pictures that really show.

After a year with that camera I decided to buy a fancy camera, a Canon EOS 550D. I had no idea what I was doing, all those professional terms confused me. I went to the store and asked for a camera no more than €500. There was a special offer at that time, so I paid €470 for my camera, body only. After a while I got better and started being proud of the pictures I took. No longer only my mother liked my pictures, but also other people. When you are trying to get better at something, it’s a nice thing when people compliment your work. That feels as if you actually are getting somewhere. For christmas I got a book about photography, and a year later I know so much more.  It’s about two years ago I got myself a camera, but I definitely don’t feel sorry for doing so. Problem is, I still cannot make money with this camera, so my search goes on.

When you try to find out your hidden talent, you should not be scared that it doesn’t work. I’ve been to a psychic a while ago, and she told me that everything I try, will work out. No matter if you believe in it or not, the idea of you trying things and it all actually works out is a nice idea. Because of this I decided to finally do what I wanted, no excuses.

Why not try to do the thing you admire someone for? Does your mother make the best apple pie ever? Why not try it yourself, and find out if it tastes as good as hers or maybe even better. Do you want to draw as good as your best friend? Why not try it? Not all talents are useful. I’m good at writing a whole essay off bullsh*t if I wanted to, but yet again, that doesn’t sell.

So, I’m going to try a few things. No excuses, even though I know that’s my hidden talent. (I should write a book about that, maybe it’ll sell?)

I’m going to feel bad for writing this, but if I don’t write it down here, I will not do it anyway.

I soon will

– Try writing stories

– Try stock photography

I also want to try actually writing my own recipes, not modifying existing ones.

 

What are your talents?

 

Pictures in this post are from google. I do NOT own these.
Leave a Reply

